108 members have voted

1. 1. Which caliber is better overall?

• 7mm

I have read a plethora of reading stating that the .308 is a fantastic all-around caliber for hunting all kinds of game and long range shooting. Recently, an acquaintance of mine that also happens to be a licensed hunt guide, mentioned that he would recommend I purchase a 7mm as opposed to the .308 for an all-around long range rifle. He states that it shoots flatter, has more kinetic energy at longer ranges, and is much faster.

Can you coues folks help me determine which caliber is truly superior if I'm looking for a well rounded rifle that can handle long ranges and still be effective? Are the benefits he mentioned actually true, and are they actually benefits?

I want something that's going to be able to hunt anything in North America aside from varmit, but I don't want a rifle that is going to be overkill.

Either caliber is capable of taking anything in north america. I studied the pros and cons of both for quite some time before purchasing a 7mm mag.

For what i wanted, the 7mm came out on top. If i were to shoot the 300 mag, i would use 200 gn or higher bullets. That is where the 300 mag really shines IMO...

I think it really depends on how and what you hunt and the exact cartridges you are comparing. That being said I love my 7mm's!

Both have extremely high quality bullets to choose from. Both have high and low recoil options... pretty much a wash in my opinion

• Like 1

With the question being that generic I would have to agree with firstcoues. Both have some great choices.

Imo the .270 is a better choice but it will shot with the 7mm out to 700 yard's

/>Imo the .270 is a better choice but it will shot with the 7mm out to 700 yard's

What???

• Like 2

The energy is almost pound for pound with the 7mm. I can't justify the extra weight and recoil

• Like 1