Sign in to follow this  
208Rob

Coues habits

Well guys after years of applying for Coues deer in New Mexico I finally drew a tag. This is my first Coues hunt and I am very excited. I drew the unit 23 (Burro Mts.) muzzy hunt that runs from Oct. 25 through the 29th. I will only be able to scout for a couple of days before the season starts so I figured I better start doing some research now. I am just trying to figure a few things out about the area and Coues deer in general since this is my first time hunting them. I was wondering if the coues bucks bachelor up like mule deer or stick to themselves. Also wondering about the weather during that time of the year.

Sure wish I could scout more than 2 days prior to the hunt but with work and the 1000 mile drive to the unit I don't think it will happen. I am more than willing to help anybody that needs some information on hunting Idaho, thanks again. I am not looking for someone to tell me right where to hunt just trying to figure out thier habits and maybe things I should be aware of before I head down there to hunt in Oct.. If you would rather P.M. me that is great. Any advice is greatly appreciated and I will be sure to let you know how I do.

Thanks,

Rob

Yes and no, bucks will run together but not like mule deer. You most likely won't be finding 6, 8 or 10 bucks together. You're most likely to see 2 or 3 sometimes 4. But then there are bucks that get smart and run solo. Most likely those bucks you find running solo will be out earlier in the mornings and already going back to bed or back to hiding before all of the others.

The weather will probably be warmer than what you will be used to in Idaho so I wouldn't weigh yourself down by packing a lot of cold weather gear. Also try and search the forums here for "glassing for coues deer", there is a ton of good information in posts like those, a lot of good hunters on here. Good luck on your tag and I'm sure you will enjoy hunting the grey ghost.

• Like 1