Sign in to follow this  
AZ_SAWBUCK

NEED HELP WITH A VORTEX SCOPE

I'm a little frustrated and could use some knowledge from some of you. I have a semi custom rifle that I recently mounted a new scope on, its a Vortex Viper HS 4-16x50 w/ 1/2moa elevation turret. Got it sighted it in at 200 yards and it seems to be grouping ok. About 1.5" groups at 200.

I'm new to dialing turrets so I go to the vortex site and build a drop chart. I set it up in clicks (not MOA) so I could just count the clicks and be dialed in at ## yards. I don't reload yet so I'm shooting factory ammo. Hornady Superformance 180 gr SST. So I set up a paper target at 450 yards. Check my chart....... it says dial 10.1 clicks. I shoot in the prone position off a bipod and used a sand sock with my support hand. Shoot a 4 shot group and am surprised at the results. My group is 12" high and its a 4" group.

Does it seem that I messed up the chart some how? What do you guys come up with on adjustment given the load and information given? Is there a better chart or system I should use? I know I should be shooting hand loads but I have to work with what I have right now. Any help would be appreciated.

Rifle: Remington 700 .300 win mag, HS Stock bedded, Timney trigger, custom break, Talley one piece rings and bases. Harris Bipod

THX Jason

.300 HORNADY DROP CHART.pdf

post-6362-0-21509200-1412215581_thumb.jpg

Are you taking the BC (ballistic coefficient) and velocity (did u chronograph the speed) into consideration?

When I built the chart on the vortex site I used the BC and velocity provided from Hornady. BC .48 and Muzzle Velocity of 3130 fps. I did not chronograph.

It looks like you need to chrono your load to determine its velocity. Then you can enter that into the program and get a more accurate drop chart. Even then, you need to verify the clicks by shooting at those distances and adjusting accordingly.