desertmafia21

Kuiu Icon vs Ultra

Anybody ever use both? What are the advantages of the icon over the ultra? I love the weight of the ultra 6000 at only 3lbs 9 oz. I ended up buying a 2013 icon frame with 5200, 3000, and 1850 bags on another forum. Is it worth it to get the ultra to save 2 lbs on the base weight?

Any input is appreciated thanks

• Like 1

I have no experience with the Kuiu bags, but I do run a Kifaru. IMO, I would not buy another bag to save 2 lbs, unless you are planning on going on a deep back country hunt, and have all the other superlight gear. (600$ sleeping bag, 500 tent,) I have heard from some on my buddies that run Kuiu's that the ultra's are not as well made as the icon's for what it's worth.

• Like 1

I'm in the market for a new pack and I have been researching the ultra 6000 and like it a lot. I have read where people have ordered the Icon frame and put the 6000 pack on it. I'm just wondering what the Icon frame weighs and if there is an advantage over the ultra frame. David

• Like 2

I have the Ultra 6, its been great so far on my few trips with it. It is really light and the extra quick straps and adjustability are awesome. I also bought the bow carrier and it works pretty slick so far. Unfortunately haven't been able to pack out any kills with it yet. This is the first large volume hunting/specialty pack I've owned, so not a ton of experience to compare to. But with me tipping the scales at 160 on a good day, I need to save every ounce I can on my hauls. The only thing that has caused me to pause so far is the material isn't extra quiet when going through thick brush, not even close to the quietness of their clothing line.

• Like 2