208muley

6.5 creed bullet choice help.

I bought my wife a savage 111 lightweight hunter in 6.5 creed. What bullet choice would you guys recommend? . I need to go factory as I don't reload. Yet. She is looking to hunt deer pigs etc. I bought some 120 gr a-max to sight in with and hunt pigs in three weeks. I would like to end up shooting 140s with a high bc so i can get the cds turret from leupold for the finished load. I have read mixed reports of how the a-max performed on animals. What experience do y'all have and what would you recommend? Thanks in advance. Eric

I have heard great results with the A-Max bullets on game, but I have no personal experience with them.

Hornady has a 140gr. A-Max load. http://www.hornady.com/store/6.5-Creedmoor-140-gr-A-MAX/

Nosler makes a 140gr. Custom Comp load. http://www.nosler.com/match-grade-rifle-ammunition

Nosler makes a 140gr. NBT load. http://www.nosler.com/trophy-grade-ammunition

Copper Creek Ammunition has 9 different loadings. http://coppercreekammo.com/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=48

Winchester makes a 140gr. SMK load. http://www.winchester.com/Products/rifle-ammunition/Advanced/Match/Pages/S65CM.aspx

I have no problem shooting Match HP bullets on game. They are not recommended by the manufacturer, but in my experience, work phenomenally. Shot placement is priority #1, and match bullets do that just fine.

I have a 6.5 Super LR, but if I had a Creedmoor, I would help you out and load some up for you. Buy some dies, and components, and have someone show you how. You will have a ton more availability. I like the Berger bullets myself.

Here is one of the 162gr Amax bullets I recovered from my cow elk this year. I was very impressed with how well the bullet held together. This bullet went through both shoulder blades and stopped under the hide. Impact velocity was around 2100fps.

post-843-0-66705900-1422461436_thumb.jpeg