azracer11

Opinions on archery mule deer strategy

Hello! I am pretty new to the site and I have used a lot of the information found to help me in this years hunt. This is my first year archery mule deer hunting and I have had a rough time. Pre season scouting in my area went fairly well locating a couple bucks. At the last second I found out I needed surgery which sat me out for the beginning of the hunt. I have put in two days and I have located a buck, not sure if it is the same one from scouting but he is very similar. I have now glassed this deer in almost the same spot twice now and I am unsure of what to do now. I watched him bed down this morning in a very difficult place and it would not allow me a stalk until I found an alternative way to enter his area. So now I have this question for tomorrow mornings hunt. Should I go into that area where I have seen him multiple times and lay low hoping for his pattern to reuccor and get a shot. Or should I keep glassing and if he shows up again set up for a stalk using the new way I found in. This will be my last day to hunt and I only have the morning to do so(leaving for college). Any help would be appreciated and I hope I can get it done in the short time I have.

Once I bed a buck, unless they have been spooked they will be in the same area, If it was me and I saw him bed down, I would sneak in up hill (if possible) and wait about 100 yards out. Quite often he will then get up and stretch and feed in the early afternoon and then bed down again. Then depending on terrain I would get to within 40-60 yards and wait for him to stand right at dark or if that is impossible or doesn't seem like a good idea then I would wait for him to stand and start feeding and hope he works up the hill toward you. Only your scouting will tell you which way he usually feeds in the evenings.

Good luck hope you get to release an arrow.

• Like 7