azelkhunter69

12AW or 12BW ?

UPDATED.....Let me start by saying that for a few reasons I have been building points for deer for several years. I spend most of my vacation chasing elk, whether it be my hunt(not usually) or my wife's, kid's, or my parent's. So, I find myself sitting on 10 pts. I was going to use them on a Strip archery hunt for myself. But, over the past 6 months I got to thinking about my dad's age and what little time I have left to hunt with him...he will be 78 in September. He has been my hunting partner for most of my life and I don't look forward to the not to distant future when he will no longer want to go, be able to go, or inevitably not be here to go. He and I have never been to the Kaibab and I for one believe that we should all go at least once in our lives. So, I have decided that I will use my points to potentially get us a tag there this Fall. An avg. of 6 pts gets us in the bonus round for either hunt so we should have a really good chance. Neither one of us drew elk tags so I think it is a good time to do it. Also, he has a Kimber rifle that he is very fond of and recently told me that he has never killed anything with it and he would really like to.

So, I am looking for advice, opinions, scouting tips, hunting tips, camp spot tips, etc...anything really. Which hunt and why? We have an old canvas wall tent with a wood burner that my dad has been using for probably close to 50 years. It's seen a lot. Firewood availability? Might seem like some stupid questions but as I said, I have never been there. My guess is I will spend 3 to 4 longish weekends this Summer and Fall scouting there when/if we get tags. Might be more, I really don't know but my 1st instinct says that is about right.