Sign in to follow this  
Murph24

Spot and stalk or hunt from a blind?

Hello,

I'm new to coues deer hunting, and seeking some advice. I plan on hunting the upcoming early archery season and was curious if it is more beneficial to hunt water from a blind or spot and stalk? I prefer spot and stalk, but if there are more opportunities from a blind, I am flexible. I can't hang cameras in the area so that limits scouting the water. Thanks for the help.

Coty

I have tried spot and stalk for 20 years and still no archery deer for me in august. This year i am sitting a water hole lol.

• Like 1

I have successfully spot and stalked coues deer in August. There's way more opportunity

• Like 3

You can always do both. Try glassing through the morning & if you haven't found anything you like by early afternoon, find a nice trail to sit on for the evening.

I personally think you have much higher odds of killing by hunting ambushes, but you'll see more deer with your binoculars & tripod.

• Like 5

I have been racking my brain going over this as well. First time archery coues hunt for myself and the area I am looking at has lots of natural water pockets and creeks. I think I will try glassing in the am and sitting in the afternoon. There is just so many spots I could sit with all that water and monsoon season is upon us. I am hoping if I can locate some through my binos then perhaps it will shrink down the area I need to sit. I really don't know but that is what my gut is telling me anyways. Good luck on your hunt

• Like 2