Sign in to follow this  
MULEPACKHUNTER

Fly fishing Wyoming

Planning a big trip next year starting in Wyoming fly fishing my way back to AZ over two weeks or so. I am a rookie at the fly deal and could use some help, oddly enough I'll be building my own rods and lines from scratch but I'm not sure on length and weight. If you had two rods and 3 reels what would you bring for rods and what 3 lines would you spool?

Also if you had your pick of rivers to hit what would be your top 2 rivers in Wyoming and Colorado?

I fished the North Platte south of Casper on my WY antelope hunts and there wasn't anything my 8'6" or 9' 5wt couldn't handle. If you want to throw big streamers in the reservoirs for browns you may want a 6 wt.

I also fished the Frying Pan and Roaring Fork on the way to break up the drive and I will definitely be back for a longer, dedicated fishing trip. Lots of dry fly fishing throughout the year for rainbows and browns.

post-3844-0-20705700-1509049924_thumb.jpg

• Like 6

Could do a whole month just in YNP. If you are going to be in southern/central Wyoming, then I would hit the North Platte and the Big Laramie. In Colorado, I would fish the South Platte at Cheeseman Canyon and between Spinney Mountain/Eleven Mile reservoirs. If the timing is right I would recommend the caddis hatch on the Arkansas, or the stonefly hatch on the Gunnison. Both are spectacles to behold. Otherwise the Green, Blue, Fryingpan and upper Colorado would be my recommendations. The tailwaters of the Taylor River hold the biggest trout you will ever lay eyes on, but as it is the most technical fishery I have ever fished, I cannot recommend it to a novice flyfisherman. Of course, once all is said and done, you need to fish the San Juan in NM, as it is on the path home.