mattys281

How do you nuke an old salt lick?

So here's the story:  have a salt lick I've been running for about 12 years now.  It's been good for seeing bucks early in the summer, but not great for hunting season, they usually disperse when the does drop their fawns.  Actually a better spot for elk in august than it is for deer.  This lick is about 1.5 miles down a ridge, no roads or trails.  Never seen another person in there, until this year.  Came in July to check my camera, and it had been rehomed.  I put another one up about 10 ft up in a different tree.  Came back in August and now there's another camera in a lock box on the exact tree that my stolen one had hung from.  My new camera captured a picture of the guy, although not a great one.  He showed up about 2 days after I was there.

I'm fine with moving on, but don't like somebody just swooping in and taking a spot from me, especially when I'm pretty sure the new guy has stolen my moultrie.  I've heard a couple gallons of bleach works wonders.... 

Bleach will work but will burn the noses of any animal that has been used to using it. If you plan another lick anywhere within a mile of that area they may be “gun shy” of a new lick. Not to mention you don’t want to mess with the wild life. Best thing is to start a new one elsewhere. Next best, dig the ground out in a 5’ circle, 2’ down, third best, kill the guy and bury him. Sodium in his body will make a nice lick.

• Like 2

Diesel is the answer. The more the merrier . Its mostly oil and it stays in the ground for a long time. Bleach or ammonia evaporates pretty soon and deer will come back. Don’t ask me how i know, just take my advice. 

• Like 4

LMAO!  I'm liking option 3, but still.....  

I've been told they won't go near the bleach smell, but I don't feel right about pouring chemicals on the ground in the forest.  Plus it's probably a little on the illegal side...