bojangles

Favorite boots

What’s your favorite pair of boots and why?

These are my redwing iron rangers.  I love the versatility.  I've worn them cutting firewood, packing elk, business meetings, church, and sales presentations.  They are looking a little rough these days, but regular saddle soap and oil keeps them going.  

Handmade in the USA.

A few cons, they have a cork dress sole, so they aren't that comfortable for the long haul.  I had to put cushion insoles in them for comfort.  The dress outsole is great for working in customers homes, they don't track mud or rocks.  But when i get them re-soled, i will go with a softer gum sole for more traction and comfort.

Nothing relieves stress like a stout cup of coffee and a can of boot oil, and a good boot cleaning session.

9E280552-595D-4F6D-9E53-094CC9A87804.jpeg

• Like 1

Redwing #608 is what I’ve been wearing for the past 8-10 years. They last me 2 or so years. I had a pair re soled once when the original wore out. Nothing but bad luck. First sole came off in a week, second lasted almost 8 months before it came off on a hunt in a field of cactus. Could be because I’m in oil and chemicals all day but either way I won’t ever re sole again.

• Like 1

5 minutes ago, muledeerarea33? said:

Redwing #608 is what I’ve been wearing for the past 8-10 years. They last me 2 or so years. I had a pair re soled once when the original wore out. Nothing but bad luck. First sole came off in a week, second lasted almost 8 months before it came off on a hunt in a field of cactus. Could be because I’m in oil and chemicals all day but either way I won’t ever re sole again.

yeah, just looking at the 608, it doesn't look like a good candidate for a re-sole.  i agree to just buy new if i wore that boot.

Red Wing 415 everyday use. Red Wing 2203 for work. Both have been resoled. I was told that Red Wings were heavy, hard to break in, but the most comfortable boot around, found that to be true. 

0909181356.jpg

• Like 1