Tac

lets talk effective distance for caliber/bullet weight

I have been shooting distance for a few years now and was in a discussion on caliber/bullet weight and accuracy at distance. This last weekend we went out and were shooting at 1320 yards we noticed that the 6.5 creedmoor was having a hard time hitting the large sillouette and we swaped to the 338 lapua and hit it. I was curious what the effective accurate range that should be expected for different rounds?

Lets have it.

Well I believe the BC plays into it a  lot at extreme ranges. I believe the 1000 yd new world record set with a 6mm  was a tad over 1" for 5 shots.

• Like 1

ok so lets add high bc heavy end for caliber and add that to it 

I have done some research and it seems that all the southwest national guys in the open class seem to choose 284 winchester. 

This is a very subjective question.  Each gun will have different max ranges depending on velocity, BC and weight.  Without specific information it's almost impossible to know the max effective range on any specific gun. 

Lance is the best person to answer these types of questions!!!!!! 

• Like 1

6.5CM or 338 lapua? Quite a difference. There are people all over youtube shooting steel plates with a 6.5CM at a mile. I shoot that round and at 1320 yards would have over 650" of drop. More MOA than my scope can handle. I'm sure the 338 magnum can shoot that distance. It's a cannon! In fact the 338 is the caliber Chris Kyle used on his 2100 yard longest confirmed kill.  

I suspect the 338 drop would be double that of the 6.5CM though. So it's on the scope. The CM is flatter and faster.

Up to the point where the bullet becomes unstable, likely in the trans sonic range, it pretty much boils down to the shooter.

the transonic speed is a good explanation of and happens with my load about the distance that i,m questioning.