Sign in to follow this  
Western Hunter

An Interview with Elk Hunter Magazine’s Photography Editor Tony Bynum

bull-rub-text-email.jpg?w=361&h=5411. What do you like about elk hunting the most?

I like the tactical aspects of closing the gap between me and a bull with his cows – particularly getting through the maze of eyeballs and noses to the target when I’m hunting bulls. While over the years I’ve learned some great techniques, it seems that no matter how much or how hard I hunt elk, just about the time I get to thinking I’ve got it figured out, elk do something I wasn’t expecting – it’s sobering! It truly is the pursuit and the learning that I like most.

2. Do you prefer bowhunting or rifle hunting elk?

I like rifle hunting, and I’ll tell you why. First, I’ve called in many large bulls for other hunters, and since I’m a wildlife photographer as well, getting in the lap of a big bull happens often, but still fascinates me. I’m lucky to be able to get close to a lot of giant bulls every year, but the reason I’m a rifle hunter is simple – time. I believe in being a tactician. The truth is I can do a better job killing an elk with my rifle (Tikka T3 .300 WSM) than I can with a bow since I don’t make the time to shoot a bow as often as I would like to in order to feel proficient enough ensure a clean kill. Fortunately, I’m in on some great hunts and bring elk right into my lap a few times every year, and the photography helps to quench my elk thirst.

3. How do you personally prepare for an upcoming elk hunt?