Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
Outdoor Writer

AGFD - Arizona Game and Fish Commission Awards Banquet

Recommended Posts

Jan. 8, 2020
Arizona Game and Fish Department
Make your reservation for the Arizona Game and Fish Commission Awards Banquet
Jan. 25 event recognizes advocates who strive to support AZ wildlife
PHOENIX — The Arizona Game and Fish Commission will recognize 20 individuals and groups during the annual Commission Awards event, which will commend national/state/local leaders, wildlife advocates, and volunteers for their work to support the state’s wildlife.
The event will be held on Saturday, Jan. 25, 2020, at the Pointe Hilton Tapatio Cliffs Resort, Grande Ballroom, 11111 N. 7th St. in Phoenix and will honor the recipients of the 2019 Commission Awards who were selected at the Commission’s Sept. 20, 2019 meeting (see award recipients below). 
Reservations are being accepted for $65 per person to attend the event, which begins with a social hour and live music at 5 p.m., and will be followed by dinner and the awards presentation at 6 p.m. 
Those to be honored at the banquet include:
  • Award of Excellence: Jackie Meck and Department of Defense/BMG Range
  • Youth Conservationist of the Year: Arielle O’Connor
  • Media of the Year: Cronkite News
  • Conservation Organization of the Year: Arizona Mule Deer Organization
  • Conservationist of the Year: Bob Jacobs
  • Natural Resource Professional of the Year: Richard Meyers
  • Volunteer of the Year: Randy Stalcup
  • Educator of the Year: Dr. Jim Strogen
  • Mentor of the Year: William Hill
  • Advocate of the Year (Two Nominations): Representative Regina E. Cobb and Ray Suazo
  • Business Partner of the Year:  Mother Road Brewing Company
  • Buck Appleby Hunter Education Instructor of the Year:  Russ Gunderson
  • Wildlife Habitat Steward of the Year:  Bar T Bar Ranch, Bob and Judy Prosser
  • North American Model Commissioners Award:  Angela Davis and Niki Hamilton
  • Chairman’s Award: Arizona Desert Bighorn Sheep Society
  • Special Recognition: Hunter Moore
The first Commission Awards event was held in January 1991. Since then, 344 people have been recognized for their dedicated work toward securing Arizona’s wildlife for generations to come.
To make a reservation, use the RSVP form located on the Department website or contact Shay Bernal at (623) 236-7276 or e-mail sbernal@azgfd.gov

Share this post

Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this