Sign in to follow this  
kingbeer

over the counter tags

hey all,

i wanted to find out if anyone would be able to help me with some information. i didnt get drawn this yr and i wanted to do the over the counter deer tags and dont know where to get them?

any advise?

thanks all

ok so sorry if i sound dumb here, but mail in an app, and they you are able to go and get them at say walmart? or do you have to mail in the app and then it will be a second draw? sorry but i am new to the whole hunting thing and feel really stupid that i can figure this out.

thanks again

I think what Adicted is talking about is the over the counter archery tags, you can get those at Walmart, Sportsmans Warehouse and others. They are good for most units for the Aug-Sept. and December hunts. If you want a rifle tag you need to send in another application for the leftover draw, if there are any still left after August 4th you will be able to just go to Game and Fish and buy one. All info is in the regs. You can get them at Walmart or download them from here: http://www.azgfd.gov/regs/mainregs.pdf

Good Luck!

sweet deal, really want to do the rifle hunt (so will have to go in the left over draw) but will take the archery if i dont get that. i was reading the regs and i am not seeing if you have to add another fee with the app? or is it if they pick your app then they will hit your card on file for the tag?

yep...they hook you for the app fee on the main draw and the leftovers. I guess it makes sense though...2 different applications being processed.

They changed to a chart in the regs (p. 42) this year showing the units that are open for OTC archery and when. Used to be more confusing to keep straight since not all units are open for August and December seasons.

$58 check or money order

thanks for this. and i am taking it that if you dont get drawn then they will send it back to you?