BowFly

Buck groups?

Hey guys,

I have been checking trail cams for over a month now, and have not seen any mature bucks. I have seen a TON of does, yearlings, year and a halfs, spikes, button bucks, etc. but no mature bucks.

I am relatively new to Coues deer hunting, but I am guessing that Coues are like other deer in general in that bucks and does live seperately, for the most part, until the rut.

If I am correct in this assumption, can someone tell me when they start to mingle before the rut, and roughly when does the rut get into full swing in Southern AZ?

If you are getting tons of does on your cameras right now, be patient. Those big mature bucks will show up when the rut kicks in. Typically, during the summer months an early fall, the bucks do travel in bachelor groups. I am no expert by any means, but I think the really big mature bucks like to be alone all the time. In my experiences, even during summer scouting and August/October hunts the biggest bucks are either alone or with just one other buck.

Guest borderboy

I'm with BML. Most if not all of the really big mature bucks I have seen have been pretty much solitary. They might have been in the same area as other deer but not reallly with them. Maybe another buck or 2. I did see 3 big bucks once in 30A. I was able to take my pick. The rut is a totally different ball game though. Suerte.

border boy you should show some pics of your coues and or mulies you have killed in the past. I hunt in 30A but mulie have never gone whitetail i think i will go for coues next year.