COOSEFAN

What do Coues do in the Spring?

I am hardly ever in Coues country in the Spring time when they loose their headgear. I have always wondered if they move far out of their normal haunts during this time of year? I have always thought they moved a little and was the reason why I find only a few sheds during scouting/hunting season in the areas where I know they are in the late Fall. I know desert Mulies will drop in the same areas because they have no reason to change elevations very far throughout the year, but do the Coues move much in the Spring? Thanks, JIM.

Most Coues stay right where they are at. If a coues is living where the winter will chase him out, Because of where they live they usualy dont have to go more than a mile or two to get down to the desert and out of the snow or to diferent feed.

The reason I find fue Coues sheds is couse they are so small. It's much easer to find an elk shed and that can still be hard some trimes.

This is my first year looking for Coue's sheds. I started in late April and was skunked for a whole month. I found my first one in late May, since then I have averaged about 2 sheds every morning that I go out to a new area (10 fresh sheds, 6 old ones so far).

My best reccomendation is that when you get into an area and you start finding alot of scat, look under every single bush that you possibly think a deer could fit beneath. I find 90% of my sheds under or near large mesquite or palo verde. It is like watching a puzzle fall together, you start seeing scat, you see bushes or trees that have been rubbed on or have broken branches, you start seeing beds under trees, and BAM there they are.