Sign in to follow this  
ketchupcox

New to Area - Unit 30A Tips

Hi All,

I drew a whitetail tag for unit 30a. I'm new to Arizona (3 years) and need some tips and a "where to start" plan. I have experience hunting the New Mexico side of the border (Skeleton, Walnut, Dutchman, etc) and love the area. We took a drive thru the area last year and have an understanding of the terrain. Any help would be appreciated.

:( Longshot

White-tailed Deer

Overview: Whitetail hunting is expected to be average in the 2005 fall hunts. Permits were decreased this year by 75 due to the low buck to doe and fawn to doe ratio. The unit contains isolated populations of whitetail within certain mountain ranges. Areas that should be productive are the Peloncillo Mtns, south side of the Dos Cabezas, and the Pedregosa Mountains. Like any hunt, scouting before the season starts should be included in your plans. Plan on beginning your hunt early in the morning and hunt until late evening. Good optics and patience while hunting this species of deer is a must. Finding a good vantage point and glass areas for long periods of time.

Areas: To Access the Peloncillo Mountains take I-10 to Hwy 191 south to Douglas, follow 15th street which becomes the Geronimo Trail. Take Geronimo Trail road into the mountain range located on the Arizona/New Mexico border. Areas include Cottonwood Canyon, Estes, Miller Springs and Outlaw Mountain. Because of the proximity to New Mexico, be sure of location to the state line. One major change in access is Skeleton, South Fork of Skeleton, Starvation, and the Old Fairchild Ranch can no longer be accessed.

The Pedregosa Mountains are located northeast of Douglas. To get there, take Hwy 80 from Douglas to Boss-Husted Shipping Corral road. Areas include Walnut Canyon, Upper Indian Creek and Halfmoon area.