Thegrayghost

Bear hunting Sana Rita Mts.

Hey guys I'm fairly new to hunting bears and have only tried it once. This fall season I would love to take down a big bear. I don't have dogs nor re money for a guide. And was thinking about glassing or sitting a waterhole. Can any of you bear hunters out there help me. I just want to get one bear. Where should I start. Being that all areas are closed due to the fires, is it to late to scout? I need all the help I can get please can some one help. Also, is there alot of bears in the Sana Ritas. Or should I try elsewhere?

Thanks

I have asked the same Questions to alot of people on here. From what I can tell you is this. Its never to late to scout a new area get out and look for sign and glass. If you are like me and do the spot and stalk then you have to glass long distance. So get the best optics you can. Get high and look low in the vallys and draws,hills,fingers. If your going to sit on water then Set some cams in diffrent spots to try and give you a Idea as to what bears are geting water.Plus thsi will help you scout 2 or 3 areas with out wasting days in a stand. If not look for vegation in the unit you plan on for berrys acorns ETC. Find the food find the bears thats all they think of. I have tryed sitting,calling,spot and stalk in diffrent unit's the best way is get out and glass. As for the sana Rita's I have been up there and do alot of hunting in that area and they are there just have to find them. Good luck. I have not taken my first bear yet but im im hoping that will change.

If I were you I would try 22. There are alot of good-great bear areas in the early season. The Santa Ritas are rough at best. If I was going to put my time in 22 has the most bears. Thats my opinion, take it or leave it.

If I were you I would try 22. There are alot of good-great bear areas in the early season. The Santa Ritas are rough at best. If I was going to put my time in 22 has the most bears. Thats my opinion, take it or leave it.