Sign in to follow this  
PowellSixO

35B November 4th-10th ?'s

I'm hoping to get a little feed back on this unit guys if you don't mind sharing a little info with me. I'm new to coues hunting, and new to 35B. I live in Northern AZ, and have only been as far south as Tucson. And that was to buy a boat. Lol. I'm not looking for anyone's spots or anything like that, I just some information that might prepare me a little more for the unit please. For one, I'm in great shape and hiking certainly does not bother me. My first question would be, where should I look? Should I look at the flatter lower elevation areas, or part way up the mountains and mid range elevation areas, or all the way to the highest elevations at this time of year? North side slopes, or south side slopes?

I've got an cow elk hunt in October that I'm helping my 2 uncles with, another bull elk hunt in November I'm trying to help my dad with, as well as a tag that I drew in November for late rifle bull. So unfortunately I will not get a lot of scouting time in this unit (I'll be scouting a lot for elk, and 35B is a long ways from me). I do however plan to be down for a couple of weekends before the hunt, and a few days before the hunt, and have the whole hunt off of work. So I will have some time in the unit, but it will be limited time, or at least not as much time as I'd like to spend preparing for a hunt. So I'd appreciate any information I can get on what type of stuff I should focus looking at while I'm there.

Another question I have, is kind of general to all of the coues hunts. Why is the November hunt the least desirable of the hunts?