Simple Hunter

Remington .300 Ultra Mag

Just got my .300 Ultra Mag back from the smith (equipped with muzzle brake) and I need some advice on what brand and grain should I be shooting. I grew up on a .30-06 and always used the standard Remington 125 grain core locket point. The only Remington box I can find in Ultra Mag is 200 grain. I'd rather have the smaller grain if available, for velocity - I'm not hunting elephants.

Remington makes a factory load in the Scirocco (great bullet, high BC)... I forget what weight it is, either 150 or 180. good choice right there

I have been shooting my 300 Ultra Mag since 2000 and I use the 180gr. Scirocco. My model 700 shoots half inch groups with the factory load. At one time we loaded up some 125gr Sierras with 96.5 grains of N165 powder and it also shot half inch groups and were screaming down range! But for all around performance I would say try the 180 Sciroccos. I will try to get a pic posted of the one I recovered from my Elk I shot at 522 yards. It retained almost all its weight with a perfect mushroom.

Remington loads a 150 & 180 Scirocco.

Federal loads a 180 TSX, and 180 Trophy Bonded, and 200 Partition.

I assume you got the 300 RUM for longer ranges, so I would choose a heavier bullet that has the higher BC for less wind drift. A heavier bullet will drop slightly more, but drop is easier to compensate for than wind drift. With the muzzle brake, no worries about the extra recoil.

Grab a box each of the better choices and see what shoots best in your gun.

In factory ammo, you are pretty much limited to Remington offerings. The best load for deer is probably the Remington 150 grain Swift Scirocco. The listed muzzle velocity is 3,450 FPS. This would be a flat-shooting load, not far behind the .257 Wby. All the other available loads are 180-200 grain bullets.