Sign in to follow this  
CouesPursuit

HELP! Need samples from deer harvest for ASU research study!

Hello all and thank you for viewing this post.

I am a wildlife biologist in my senior year at Arizona State University. I have been watching coueswhitetail.com closely for 2 years now and finally have something to post about..

I am currently enrolled in various wildlife nutrition classes, one being a “hands on” lab performing a nutrition analysis on a species of choice (I would obviously choose the one and only Coues whitetail). My intention is to harvest a deer myself this weekend and obtain the blood, urine and fecal samples needed to provide solid documentation illustrating deer nutritional status and habitat quality.

I share this information with you because I need your help! Not to plan on failure for my personal hunt but archery success is obviously very difficult so please if anyone could help obtain these three samples if they harvest a deer or any game species of interest this weekend we can gather valuable information for your hunting area and much more!!

We need 3 ounce samples of both

blood (preferably from heart/pure oxygenated blood)

and urine (easy to obtain from bladder)

A fecal sample as well (from the large intestine near rectum) would also be of essential value

I know this is last minute but all help including broadcast of info is greatly appreciated. I look forward to continuing my research on this phenomenal deer species both in the field and the laboratory.

Anyone interested in learning more about the nutrition of these animals.. We are all in this learning together!! Shoot over a pm or post to the thread! And good hunting!

Any question regarding this study or how you can help please call Shea Meyer @ 480-216-9745 or pm username “CouesPursuit”

Sounds pretty interesting. I hope your research goes as planned.

Please post any determinations or results from your work.

I wish I could help but no luck yet.

Go Devils