Sign in to follow this  
NoDinks

Bear hunting with dogs..

Do you support hunting bear with dogs  

85 members have voted

1. 1. Do you support hunting bear with dogs?

• Yes
    • No
  2. 2. Are you still a sportsman/hunter if you shoot a bear treed by dogs (legally)?

• Yes
    • No

I have been hunting bears for the past 9 years and have never used dogs. I would like to know if people still consider you a sportsman/hunter when u shoot a treed bear or do you think it is just a shooter without hunting skills? I personally believe it takes the sport out of it but would like to gather other opinions. And if dogs are your thing would u think bait should be legal?

Don't knock it till you try it! I've never run bears, but I have run lions and coons and it's a riot! VERY physically challenging, and mentally as well.

Anyone who thinks running dogs is just a "shoot" has never tried it.

Probably one of the toughest ways to hunt IMO considering the toll it has on your body.

Trying to keep up with dogs in bear country requires a lot of mental/physical conditioning.

I'm not gonna say it's not physically/mentally tough, it just appears as tho it's more of a exercise than a sport? I'm not knocking it bc I have never tried it, but I do know a few people who would be partially responsible for the law change in dog running, (due to the fact that they would tree bears n cats and call people at work to drive up at lunch and shoot them) n that seams less sportlike than anything! I have been rather successful/lucky with bears, so I have never considered dogs. I just don't know what it is that draws people to hire dogs, is it lack of time to hunt or lack of skill in finding bears?

A dog's nose is a a lot better than my eyes for finding bears. Good dogs can find more bears sniffing than I can glassing. Its anything but "hey the dogs got a bear lets go get him".

Take your dog to a park and play fetch with him, only run as fast and as far as he does every time you throw the ball.