AZontheRocks

Late Rifle Bull Unit 10 - First Hunt in AZ

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to AZ hunting...grew up bow hunting in Northern California (Klamath Area mostly); its been years, and this is my first rifle hunt.  My family is hyped at the prospect of a freezer filled with Elk meat. Now focused and determined to make this Unit 10 hunt as successful as possible.  I've heard that this group on here is top notch, and hopefully I can share as I go through the process.  I've got my Flatline Map ordered and Google Earth Pro...going to get OnX or GoHunt apps (or both), just not sure which one is better suited for that hunt.  NorCal hunting is very different that Unit 10...setting up to scope and stalk with plenty of trips to learn about Unit 10 (water, scope spots).  I was considering an outfitter, but I think if I put in the work, I can be successful on my own.  

New Setup I'm looking at...

Rifle (I'm LH):  Christensen Arms Ridgeline TI 300 win mag.  (5.8 lbs)------or---------Christensen Arms Ridgeline 300 win mag (6.3 lbs)

Scope options: Swarovski v6i 2.5-15 x56  BT 4A-I reticle ------or------- V5i 3.5-18 x44. BT 4W-I reticle-------or--------Vortex HD LHT 3-14 x42

I'm looking forward to the journey over the next 6-7 months.

I appreciate any advice you can offer (especially your honey holes ;-), and if it's in DM, any info will stay private...THANKS!

Welcome. I've had that tag but it was about 10 years ago and took a broken 5x5.  Lot's of people hunt the Big Bo, https://www.azgfd.com/landowner-compact/big-boquillas-ranch-access/

I'm not a Vortex fanboy and run an older Swarvo 3.5x18 on a 700 7Rem Mag that I had in a Manners stock and am switching it out to a McMillan. Plenty of areas to hunt north of Williams. Nights can get down into single digits so plan accordingly.