Sign in to follow this  
bowman

Muzzleloader help

Hi all,

I just got drawn for a Muzzleloader whitetail hunt this year....I have been trying to educate myself on them as I have never used one before and know nothing at all about them...

I am currently thinking of buying the Thompson Bone-collector....

The problem is I can't find any information on the loads or ballistic tables....I am familiar with reloading in the traditional manner and can not believe there is not a recipe book out there with common loads.....I must not be using the incorrect terminology or something....

Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for your time

The Bone Collector is a nice ML.

I would recommend, CCI 209 Primer, 85 grains Blackhorn and 250 grain Barnez Spitfire.

You will note there is "smokeless powder" (Blackhorn, Shockey) and there are pellets like White Hots etc.

Go to Blackhorn's website and they will give you load data and ballistics.

Good Luck

You need to be careful on the powders and use a black powder or black powder substitute. Smokeless powders are not legal. I was unsure of this and asked a WM friend about it. That is what he told me.

R12-4-301

Muzzleloading rifle” means a firearm intended to be
fired from the shoulder, incapable of firing fixed
ammunition, having a single barrel and single
chamber, and loaded through the muzzle with black
powder or synthetic black powder and a single projectile.