Sign in to follow this  
Dodger2

Couple of reloading questions

Need some help/advice if possible. I'm fairly new to reloading, and got a couple questions/problems...

1. Neck resizing vs. full length resizing: I've recently been neck resizing only lately, but used to only full length resize. When do you need to do one vs. the other?

2. Today I went and shot two batches of reloads. Both were neck re-sizing, trimmed to the specs, and under my recommended COAL...the only difference was one batch was Federal brass the other was Winchester. The Federal batch chambered without a problem. The Winchesters wouldn't until after I shot the Federals.

What causes rounds not to chamber? Is it the re-sizing or bullet depth? I measure each of my rounds, but still get some that chamber fine, need a little convincing, or won't chamber at all...

Thanks

2. This one has me puzzled. I do not know why the Winchester would chamber ONLY after the Federal did. That is strange. 300 wsm by chance? Screw your sizing die down just a touch until empty, resized brass chambers no problem.

My suggestion for the brass:

Trash or sell one of the other. They are different, and the thickness will give you different pressures, speeds, neck tensions etc. I recently did this with my 300 wsm, trashing all Federal, going only to Winchester.

Its not a 300wsm...its a 7mm WSM. I thought it was weird too, and also knew there would be a difference since the two types of brass are different. I only have about 20 Federal brass and can only find Winchester brass (which is what I have the most of anyways). But wanted to see how the two would shoot (not chamber) differently.

Just thought it was weird that one would chamber and the other wouldn't. And they were all loaded at the same time/session.

My wifes 7mm did the same thing. My 300wsm dont care it eats anything.