TREESTANDMAN

Need advice on handguns

I'm wanting to buy an inexpensive good quality hand gun for target practice and just a side arm to have w/ me while scouting etc. I'm looking for something larger than a 22. I want a gun w/ a comforatable grip. I have no knowledge of handguns. Any suggestions?

Treestandman

I am by no means an expert in this area, but I do like to shoot handguns. I am totally ''Old School''. I like revolvers because they are simple and relatively easy to use. I have a .357 magnum, and it is kinda cool because you can also shoot .38 caliber shells as well as .357 mag. Usually you can find a decent used revolver at a gun shop or a gun show. Also .38 caliber ammo is very common and relatively inexpensive so you get a lotta'' bang for your buck.'' I hope this helps, but I think GMM is the '' Man'' when it comes to handguns so you really need to get his input. Good Luck Coues Addict

Edited by coues addict

I would recomend you get a revolver. For a starter handgun they are a bit safer and easy to shoot. I am a hand gun nut . I would say your best bet would be the 357. Like said above you can shoot the 38 round through it for target shooting and the 357 for hunting . If you want let me know and I can let you see the ones I have Or I can run down to the sportsman or bear mountain with you and look at some . If you buy a handgun at caswells you also get range time in the purchase. This time of year that can help.

You say no 22. but you can get a nice ruger that you can shoot the 22long rifle and 22 mags. A 22 mag has just as much velocity as a 38 It just lacks in the knock down power. But for a side arm they are light to pack and great to shoot. I know a couple black bear and lions that have been killed with a 22 mag hand gun.