Sign in to follow this  
Bigfish86

Reloading .308

I'm new to reloading and was curious how many of you actually reload your own rounds? And the specs of them projectiles weights, powders, primers? I've never reloaded my own ammo before except shotgun shells so was just curious what your test loads were working up to for a starting point.

Try Hornady 178 ELDX.  Varget powder, start around 40 grains and go up 1/2 grain at a time keeping an eye out for pressure signs.  Usually you will see pressure signs around 42 grains but some chambers will be much higher.  Federal 210 GMM primers.

Varget is magic in the .308 ! Panhandle precision has a good series on reloading on youtube check it out you will learn alot. I bet there are some other great videos on there to learn from.  Get a good reloading manual for your starting loads. If you can find someone who reloads and have them sit down with you and show how they reload. 

Varget has never treated me well. No matter the cartridge it just doesn't shoot for me. IMR 4064 and H4895, however, have worked very well for me. 42.0gr of IMR 4064 under a Sierra 175gr bullet in the .308 has been a very consistent and accurate load in multiple rifles.  Do yourself a favor and buy a reloading manual and read the front half. It will give you everything you need to know and the proper way to set things up to get started. 

• Like 1

I'm getting a reloading manual and will be going over it with a fine tooth comb I'm excited to learn to reload and hope it helps with my shooting I'm not bad at it but would like to get more accurate and I feel that factory ammo will only go so far in the accuracy stage

The .308 has got to be one of the easiest cartridges to load and find accuracy for. 

With that said, one of the easiest bullets by far for me to get accurate has been the 165 nbts in that cartridge. 

Don’t forget playing with seating depth, watch for runout and so on.