Maricopa Teacher

Maricopa / Yavapai Apache instructor

Hello . I am an instructor  among my village ( Maricopa) I am reaching out to this group in search of  a Deer donation . I am seeking a whole Deer minus the carcass . I need the Deer for instruction with the young boys  in my village 12 years and up. We will teach them the tanning process  and how to make a historical  Deer hunter disguise . I am 59 years old ( an elder ) and also disabled . I cant go out to harvest my own Deer . You may google my name  and Apache Teacher to learn more about my work , also you may see work I am doing now  with our youth on my Facebook account . Blessings  

50218014_387739771978512_2463837684754284544_n (1).jpg

49652851_336378610533755_4255929805670711296_n.jpg

• Like 1

a Maricopa fishing class , Maricopa Fish Basket and gear. Fish Basket: Willow twig with a Mesquite root hoop tied on with Agave cactus fiber twined . Fishing pole : Giant reed with cotton line  and a pumice stone fish float and a Fish Hook Barrel cactus spine  for the Hook 

Welcome aboard, Richard. Look around the forum and post away. Hope to get with you soon on traditional bow making. Do you give pointers on napping as well?

58 minutes ago, Maricopa Teacher said:

a Maricopa fishing class , Maricopa Fish Basket and gear. Fish Basket: Willow twig with a Mesquite root hoop tied on with Agave cactus fiber twined . Fishing pole : Giant reed with cotton line  and a pumice stone fish float and a Fish Hook Barrel cactus spine  for the Hook 

Yes as Tom said Welcome Richard, glad you found us. I have seen your posts on Facebook this past week. Arizona has a lot of volcanic rock but I have yet to find pumice. I found much of it in my youth on Long Island. I don't know if they  used it but on our small island there were thirteen tribes. The Canarsie, Rockaway, Matinecock, Merrick, Massapequa, Nissequoge, Secatoag, Seatauket, Patchoag, Corchaug, Shinnecock, Manhasset and Montauk.

• Like 1