Sign in to follow this  
northAZarcher

Clothing for Dec.

Hello all, I'm fairly new to the sight but really interested in coues deer. I've taken many different species with the bow, and now have coues deer on my mind!

I was wondering what you all use for clothing, pants in particular? I have expensive hunting pants but wonder if they will end up with holes? I'm thinking we are going to start in unit 21. Thanks for any info you may have.

first off - open country - desert hunting isn't as easy as some types of hunting that you maybe familiar with

second any desert/ lighter colored camo will work great - older the better cuz its a 99% chance it'll get ripped or torn

desert is full of wait a second type plants - most call it catclaw where theres not catclaw almost every plant will either hook - tear or catch your good camo - its that or your not leaving a rode or trail

I usually carry one of those little sew kits in my camping stuff - saved many a set of camo from early disposal .

you do not have to buy expense stuff - very few days of really cold weather

dress in layers and take on and off as necessary thru out the day into the evening

21 has no deer left and by the way 22 a much better area to hunt - lol

• Like 1

i cant really comment on the style of camo the majority of animals I have taken I have been wearing shorts or levis. I can say what ever style you wear in December wear in layers, the December desert is both cold and hot pending activity and time of day.

Thanks everyone for posting first off.

I don't know if how I worded my question may have confused everyone?! I tend to do that! Lol!

I've lived in AZ all my life. I know what the "dirty south " has as far as vegetation. The layering part I understand. I'm using a lot of first lite merino wool and know that most likely won't hold up down south. Just wanting suggestions for alternatives for pants if I have to go busting through the brush.

Might be a search feature that I don't know how to use!!!