Sign in to follow this  
jackmedic

Bull elk in 6A

I was lucky enough to be drawn for bul elk in 6A Nov hunt this year, and will be using my T/C Omega 50 cal. I am relatively new to muzzle loader hunting, but really enjoy it so far.

I am looking for some ideas on bullet size, powder type, and any other tips that I can use.

Thanks,

Jackmedic

Congrats that is a great tag!!

Try to stay away from the sabots they just do not have the penetration. I know there will be someone that will say I am wrong but the more weight the better. And most important is to close your distance!!!!! Do not shoot at an elk over 125 with that thing they are way overrated just ask any good meat processor they will tell you how many rounds they find in elk. You might be able to hit them but not kill them. Another thing to take note of is your wind age. Wind drift is very hi at any distance. As to find what is right for your rifle that just takes time on the range. I have found that most of my friends that shoot zip rifles try to stay away from any plastic on their rounds it tends to melt to the sides of your barrels Causing tough reloads and inaccuracy. I have two friends that prefer the old fashion mini ball in their zip rifles.

If you want to have something a little better that is also a great investment go out and buy a original and shoot round balls. You might be amazed how well they shoot, and it is real cool to take you game with a rifle that is over 160 years old. That is what that season was for.

Take into consideration that alot of companies boast thing that are just flat not true of their products just to sell them.

Good luck on your hunt