I'm new to coues deer hunting, never put in yet because i'll like to have an idea of what i'm doing, have been glassing a lot of times and have no problem in the morning or evening but during the day is very difficult for me because don't know where to be, i have read Jim heffelfinger's articles about glassin, read the book how to hunt coues deer, have been reading this website for a year now but during the day if my back is to the sun i glass south and east facing slopes if i glass north and west facing slopes the sun is on my face and can't see much, my question is how the really expert glassers do it? and what method do you use?

i'm sure i have more questions but they don't come to my mind right now.

if some peole with experinence here can give some advice.

thank you.

Giulio

• Like 2

Use a shirt or something to throw over your head and part of the binos. It helps a lot.

• Like 1

The general rule is south and east facing slopes in the morning and north and west slope during times you expect deer to be bedded. A good time to be glassing bedding areas is just after the sun goes to the west of straight up. That's when the shade start changing and the deer often get up to reposition for the afternoon.

Sometimes bucks will surprise you and bed right out in the open, especially if it is very cold.

• Like 1

First of all - I am not an expert glasser - but what has worked for me is focusing on the sunny hills in the AM and once I am sure I have scoured the sunny hills, I may glass the shady side of hills if it has warmed up enough to where the bucks need to find some shade...or if it is windy out, I will glass the thicker stuff (shady or sunny) to try to find the deer holed up.

Depending on the hunt, I will try to determine when the bed down time is by watching what the does do. If the does are starting to bed, the bucks will probably follow or may already be bedded.