Sign in to follow this  
HuntHarder

Acceptable COAL tolerances?

So I am fairly new to reloading, and I am curious as to what most think are acceptable COAL to maintain good accuracy. I have noticed that even measuring berger bullets, I can get anywhere from .000-.008 difference in overall length. So I did a little research online and found a Hornady comparator.

Do any of you use a comparator to achieve optimal accuracy? Most people say that measuring COAL is not near accurate enough and the use of comparator is needed to achieve accuracy. What are some of you more experienced reloaders using?

Case volume is the biggest factor as well as bullet weight in my opinion. If your using a dedicated O.A.L, tool you shouldn't see more than .005 +-

as long as your arm is consistent on the press. Spitzers will give different measurements due to deformation of the lead tip. As will lead cast if you press too hard on your measuring device of choice. I try to load per case volume and bullet weight and then group by my oal.

Try the hex nut bullet comparator from Sinclair intl or midway. Let's you take your measurement from the ogive. (It's the same idea as other bullet comparators). I haven't been reloading a long time but this is what I have gathered from hours and hours of reading forums and picking peoples brains.

You didn't say if you were measuring the bullet at the ogive or not, assuming you were measuring to the tip then yes the bergers have a very small amount of difference due to the bullet jacket swag at the tip.

The Hornady or Stoney point gauge works well and measure from the ogive you will have to make sure you have the right gauge for your caliber. One other recommendation, if you are using VLD bullets you should have a VLD seating stem a standard seating stem will cause the bullet to rock to one side much of the time.