Sign in to follow this  
Mhayez

36A Pointer

Hi everyone,

First of all I would like to start by stating that is is a great site to learn about hunting in Arizona. All your forum topics have been very helpful. This is my first time rifle hunting and I'll be hunting in 36A thanksgiving weekend. My question is do you guys have any additional pointers for hunting this unit? I read the info that AZGF has but I was wondering if other hunters have tips they would like to share as well. I'm just trying to have a successful first time hunt. I would grately appreciate it. Thanks

• Like 1

Black hills including the flats that surround them and hike as far into the cerro colorados as you can. Look hard as these deer have been pounded already by two hunts.

• Like 1

Sounds like I'm gonna have to put in some work to get my buck.....looking forward to the adventure.

Get as high as you can as early as you can at lest 1/4 mile off of any road in any mountain range in the unit, and glass with good optics off of a steady tripod (often windy down there). My son shot one in there last week, so there are still some left :)

Good luck, and have fun.

• Like 1

Find a high point and glass early and late. What kind of standards are you looking for? There is also a youth hunt going on right now that began yesterday. Good Luck!

Since this is my first hunt I'm just looking for at least a medium size buck, but I would settle for anything that has antlers

Don't just glass early and late....

Mid day can be productive. As the sun moves the shade moves and often times they will get up and move with the shade.

James

Thanks everyone on the helpful pointers.