brademan76

I DREW A TAG!!

Alaska results came out today. I drew a tag for the first rifle season Oct 1-15 for those big 'ol Roosevelt elk!!

I've been eyeing the hunt for a few years and finally got a crew together that was as excited to do it as I was. Applied as two 2-man parties. The other party didn't draw the elk tag, but they'll each get a bear tag that they can use to harvest a bear or a blacktail. Only 1 other non-resident was drawn out of the 50 tags, he is from Oregon. The other 47 tag holders are local so they'll definitely have the upper-hand.

Anyone ever hunt elk in Alaska before or have any run-ins with them when hunting other species?

• Like 5

Southeast Alaska, there's a boundary polygon but it pretty much etolin island.

One of the neatest things I saw in that area while taking the passage to and from the Bering, was the Roosevelt's out on the beaches. They'd go on the beach low tide and eat kelp and salt.

Good luck, buddy

• Like 2

Alaska results came out today. I drew a tag for the first rifle season Oct 1-15 for those big 'ol Roosevelt elk!!

I've been eyeing the hunt for a few years and finally got a crew together that was as excited to do it as I was. Applied as two 2-man parties. The other party didn't draw the elk tag, but they'll each get a bear tag that they can use to harvest a bear or a blacktail. Only 1 other non-resident was drawn out of the 50 tags, he is from Oregon. The other 47 tag holders are local so they'll definitely have the upper-hand.

Anyone ever hunt elk in Alaska before or have any run-ins with them when hunting other species?

I've hunted Etolin twice for elk.