Sign in to follow this  
Viper

What is recommended rings/bases for Vortex Viper 44mm on Rem 700 LA?

I just aquired a Vortex Viper hs-t 4-16x44 with 30mm tube. I will mount it on a Rem 700 xcr .270. I hope to have hunting accuracy to 600 yrds and be able to target shoot out to 800. I may want to put flip up lens caps on. What is the recommended rings/bases? Low, med, tall? Do I need a 20 moa rail? I am new to these fancy turret scopes. I have done well with a ballistic reticle out to 400 yrds. I hope I don't have regrets....but this is the time of year to experiment.

Low rings for sure on a Picatinny base. You don't need 20MOA base for 800 yards, but might as well get one if you have one on other rifles. At least all of mine have them, because I always have to tinker, so swapping scopes around is quick and easy, and usually within a MIL or 2 when I swapped out scopes.

Pay attention to the actual measurements of each brand of ring you consider. What one manufacture calls low can be quite a bit different from another manufactures idea of low. I would put the rail on the gun and set the scope on the rail. Adjust the height of the scope with shims until it is at a comfortable height for you. Measure the thickness of the shims and you have a real good idea of what ring height you will like. I like my scopes as low as possible. For 700's with a picatinny rail and 30mm tubes I use rings that measure 0.285 to 0.295 from the base to the bottom of the tube. I have 3 700's with picatinny rails and 2 AR flattop uppers with YHM riser rails. That ring height works well for all of the scoped guns. Scopes can easily be swapped from gun to gun at will.

Thanks for the replies! I only have this one rifle for hunting and probably won't be tinkering. Once it's set up to my liking, it stays put. Will a 20 moa rail vs 0 moa rail change my cheek/eye position much?....(showing my ignorance)....or is it the ring height only.