Sign in to follow this  
tyler1215

Decoy question

This spring will be my first year spring turkey hunting. I'm really excited and trying to get everything prepared. My wife got me avian hen and Jake decoy set for Christmas. They say they are Rio Grande and I'm wondering if that makes a difference for hunting here in AZ. These are pretty expensive decoys and I plan on using them for a long time. Should I replace them or does it even matter?

I'm no expert but I don't think it matters too much. I have shot Rio's in OK and Merriams and Goulds here and in MX. Avian makes top notch decoys.

• Like 1

Make sure you have your back to a tree .I had the 6a spring hunt a few years back and you never know what you can call in.Calling turkey and had a bear step out at 30 yds and closed  to 20 as I backed out .Remember  you sound  like food for most predators. 

• Like 4

I have had birds come into the fakest  looking decoys on the market... when the toms worked up, he doesnt care if she's ugly or a difference race.  Worry more about your decoy  placement.

• Like 4

They will definitely work, I wouldn't worry about it. 

• Like 1

4 hours ago, NOTAGS said:

I have had birds come into the fakest  looking decoys on the market... when the toms worked up, he doesnt care if she's ugly or a difference race.  Worry more about your decoy  placement.

I've been reading a lot and watching videos on turkey hunting but can't say I've came across anything regarding placement of decoys. Do you care to explain what you mean? I appreciate the response.

2 hours ago, tyler1215 said:

I've been reading a lot and watching videos on turkey hunting but can't say I've came across anything regarding placement of decoys. Do you care to explain what you mean? I appreciate the response.

Put the sitting hen and the jake about 5' apart in a clear area so a Tom can see them.

• Like 2