Sign in to follow this  
Hoss50

Bow Draw Length?

Hi All,

I am contemplating getting a bow to take a shot at starting to bow hunt for OTC deer this year since I can't seem to get a tag. I am 6'3" with a broad chest and 78" wingspan give or take. 

I saw a rough formula online that said my draw length would be about 31.5".

This seems to be at the ragged edge or just over the max length for normal bows. Do I need to get a longer bow? I would prefer to not spend all the extra money it seems like the longer draw length bows cost? 

Any recommendations on a good used bow or entry level bow that might work? 

I'm not an expert but I wouldn't be overly concerned shooting a 29 or 30'.  Having just a bit of slack might save your forearm a bit from the occasional smack.  You just don't want so much slack that you're arm holding the bow is not forward enough to feel locked. But you need a good anchor point for your release.  Maybe try pulling a buddy's bow and see how it feels 

I would go to Ross and get yourself measured. The owner is a great bow tech and you need your bow properly turned.

• Like 3

I’m your size and shoot 31”. Best best is to draw bows and find out,you definitely want it to be right. I shot 30” for several years and when I actually bought one that fit me it was so much more comfortable and my anchor point much more consistent 

• Like 1

10 hours ago, Hoss50 said:

Hi All,

I am contemplating getting a bow to take a shot at starting to bow hunt for OTC deer this year since I can't seem to get a tag. I am 6'3" with a broad chest and 78" wingspan give or take. 

I saw a rough formula online that said my draw length would be about 31.5".

This seems to be at the ragged edge or just over the max length for normal bows. Do I need to get a longer bow? I would prefer to not spend all the extra money it seems like the longer draw length bows cost? 

Any recommendations on a good used bow or entry level bow that might work?