Sign in to follow this  
CouesWhitetail

Want to help me win a video competition?

Hey All,

Many of you know that I am a wildlife biologist who does surveys for all kinds of wildlife. Those surveys can be for big game (elk, deer, sheep, etc), small game or endangered species. I do contract work for a variety of agencies (USFS, BLM, private citizens, etc) and lately much of my work has been on owl surveys. As part of the owl surveys I use what is called "mousing" to help locate a nest and young. Awhile back I started filming some of the mousing sessions and then slowed the video down and set it to music so you can see how the owls fly in and capture the mice. I think the owls are amazingly skilled at being predators and it's cool to me to watch them do what they were built to do.

Anyway, as a wildlife biologist I am a member of the national Wildlife Society. The Wildlife Society is an organization that promotes science-based wildlife management and is made up of professional wildlife biologists. Anyway, they are having a video contest this year and I submitted one of my owl videos. In order to win you have to have the highest ranking video and the most views. So if you want to help me out, go vote and watch the video. I think to vote you have to have a Youtube acct, so make sure you login and vote.

here is the link:

Enjoy!

I like it. Great video. The mice getting snagged was great. I remember seeing pics of yours of albino animals, now you had the albino mice! B)

Great video Amanda,

I sat here and wondered how long you had to wait, and how hard you had to work to get those shots; amazing.

Good luck on the competition.

It's a guaranteed winner if you could somehow convince David Attenborough to narrate it for you :lol:

pretty sweet video!

good luck winning?

kinda reminds me of some of my predator hunts where i nearly soiled myself from hawks :lol:

James

Glad you like the new avatar Bill! For those that don't know, Bill did the artwork for that logo.