Sign in to follow this  
Scooter

Is there some kind of Doe Shortage???

Why on Earth is there no Doe Harvest here??? I have not been here long, but every other state I've hunted has antlerless tags (for deer). Seems like everywhere I go I see them. If you can only shoot 1 deer per year, I don't see the harm in that one deer being a slickhead. Can anyone school me on this subject?

I see them everywhere I go- this cannot possibly be true. I trust ya Lark, but from where I'm glassing it's like at least a 10:1 ratio... Heck, yesterday I stalked up on 20 Muley does in a group and no antlers in sight... With that logic (not having many deer in AZ), and the buck/doe ratios how much sense does it make to shoot bucks only??? Like I said... I'm still learning here in AZ, and I'm certainly not a biologist- just seems like there's an imbalance from what I've seen down here.

• Like 1

the survival rate with fawns is not near what it is in other places due to drought and predation.

james

so alot of the fawns that I see with mama are not gonna make it through to the next monsoon season? okay, I see that point.

the survival rate with fawns is not near what it is in other places due to drought and predation.

james

well at least predation

So you're saying I need to step up my predator game??? No Problem...

I myself dont fully understand it. I guess the need for more does so they can produce as many fawns as possible becasue so many dont make it makes some sense. Just like you, I have seen many areas with a much higher doe to buck ratio then i would like to see, for my sake and the ecosystem's. The thing is there are a lot more bucks that you just arent seeing because they are much more elusive than does, so the buck to doe ratio isnt as disproportionate as you may think. There is one or two antlerless hunts, one being a antlerless tag (issued through the draw) for the Kaibab plateau.

I just spent Friday-now in 36b. We saw a total of about 110 or so deer..... 6 bucks.