gaps

*****Updated with Story and Pics****What's your hunting style?

I'm on my first rifle deer hunt for coues and I'm looking for a little advice. If you guys are kind enough to help I really appreciate it, since I am new to this. If you feel like I am stepping on toes and asking for too much info, i guess I can understand that too. But what I want to know is do you prefer to hunt and glass from the road or do you like to hike or pack in away from the road and crowds? Also, if you find a group of does but can't find any bucks do you stay on the doe and just wait it out until a buck shows up or do you move to a new spot in search of bucks?

I hunted Friday moring through Sunday night and spotted groups of does from 300-1000 yards plus. However we could only spot one button buck and a little forky. This glassing has been from or close to the road and I am really thinking about hiking in a mile or two off the roads. I feel like this would be better for seeing bucks but I am hesitant to leave the does that are closer to the road.

What do you guys do and what do you recommend? Thanks for any help you guys can provide, I'm just a rookie looking for some help!

Get off the roads and you should find more bucks. A lot of hunters do exactly what you're doing and stick close to the roads. This late in the season, any bucks that were close to the roads are dead or small, ie the button and small forky you glassed up.

• Like 1

Glassing is the key... I have found in the early morning to glass the entire area, then as the morning draws on... glass the shaddy side of the hill.

Big bucks are by the road... they may get pushed there during hunting season or live there year around ( I have seen two B&C Bucks killed within a half mile of a road...)they are there. I personally prefer to get a mile or so from a road and glass. then work an area glassing from different angles.

The key is to be patient and glass all day... you will turn something up.

• Like 1