Sign in to follow this  
DotShot

300WSM Load

I've been shooting a Remington 700 XCR chambered in 300WSM for the last 6 years and I absolutely love this rifle, however, purchasing ammo is a tad bit pricey. That being said, this particular rifle LOVES the Barnes VOR-TX 165gr TTSX ammunition and I am wondering if I should try and duplicate a hand-load to the factory specs or just continue to bite the bullet and buy factory ammo. (Looking for an excuse to get a re-loader) . Has anyone worked up a load similar to what the factory stats on this ammo are? Without looking at the box I believe they list the velocity at 3130fps. Anyone? Any input/advice would be greatly appreciated!

reload, you can come up with a load your rifle will like and while the costs per round are cheaper, when I was reloading a lot my ammo costs didn't really go down, but I got to shoot a whole bunch more rounds for the same money. For example my .220swift was about a dollar every time I squeezed the trigger, made them myself for about 25 cents each. Initial cost for the reloading equipment will set you back some, but if you shoot a lot it will even out then soon you will be ahead.

The in general the tsx and ttsx are great shooting bullets. With a little work, you should probably be able to work up a load that shoots better than your current store bought rounds.

If you want an even better bullet try the current 180 grain nosler accubonds; they shoot really well in the 300 WSM. Another bullet I'm going to try is the nosler 190 grain LongRange Accubonds, which should be out next month sometime.

I have had great luck with 165 nosler accubond in the 300 wsm. I have two and load for manny others. I use imr 4350, but just loaded for a friend and used r-17 behind the 165 and 150 ab and got 1/4 inch groups from both. We went with the 165 due to higher bc. Speeds were easily 3300 fps with no pressure problems.

Good luck.

Whitey