Sign in to follow this  

Bowfishing

I was curious when everyone will start bowfishing this year? Is it at end of February that the carp become more visable? Any body shot a catfish yet? I would imagine that the only way to shoot catfish would be at night? I have hardly seen them in the day. I am fairly new to bowfishing, but can not wait to start flinging away again this year.

• Like 1

I just keep an eye on water temps. As they get to about 64 degrees is when I start hitting the water. Usually mid March is when you'll find the carp at pleasant rolling(spawning) in the backs of coves. If you don't mind shooting a lot of small fish (5-8lbs) its a blast! As for catfish, not sure if anyone has stuck any yet. I see most catfish at night but then again I've seen them during the day too. Remember, its only legal to shoot cats in the salt chain!

• Like 1

Travis Frazier was the first that I know of to shoot a catfish last week!!!!!!! The shooting is still slow but should get going here within the next month!!!!!!! Can't wait ill be on the water for 3 days in about two weeks!!!!!! Workbook Hooooo

• Like 1

I fished several hours Saturday and Sunday (yesterday) in and around the Salt inlet of Roosevelt.

Lots of carp, some big ones too, starting to surface all over the place.

Thanks for the info, how was the water visibility? I'm guessing it was pretty clear with so little run off, although I guess that will change this weekend with the rain.

Thanks for the info, how was the water visibility? I'm guessing it was pretty clear with so little run off, although I guess that will change this weekend with the rain.

Pretty darn clear.