Sign in to follow this  
Tdub

Turkey Tactics!

Since I'm new to turkey hunting I would like to see what others do when they are turkey hunting. From my limited experience early morning and late evening are the best time to be in the field. Two weekends ago we had turkeys calling all day strutting back and forth and this last weekend they had taken their hens and separated. They would call on the roost and then stopped when they hit the ground. Since I have limited time to hunt I usually try to stay out most of the day. Here are a few questions for the pros!

1- When you set up by a roost and the tom flys down and heads the opposite direction what's a good action plan?

2- After the birds become quiet what can one do throughout the day to be successful?

3- We are seeing a little more sign around water, so turkeys drink randomly or are they more apt to drink in the mornings or the evenings?

After this weekend we set up about 80 yards or less from a roost. We did some tree yelps and called for a good while hoping we could attract a jake or something. We tried not to call too much but didn't interest anything. So we checked out a couple areas before heading home. My daughter has the 23 youth tag this weekend so we are excited to get out.

Hi, I hope you're taking your Daughter to the Youth Turkey Camp at Colcord Ridge. See writeup in turkey forum. To answer your questions;

1. Swing wide around and set - up in front of them.

2. Spot and stalk.

3. I've never seen a turkey take a drink. They get all their needed moisture from plants and bugs, but do go to water for those same things.

Best of luck to your Daughter on her hunt.

remember turking hunting useally end with woulda , coulda, shoulda you will find out they are amazing birds, and frustrating

• Like 1

remember turking hunting useally end with woulda , coulda, shoulda you will find out they are amazing birds, and frustrating