Hello to all and a Merry Christmas: i've read in a topic earlier for a coues hunt in 24b, the gentleman took a shot at a deer at 600 yds and hit him but could not recover after two days, now you have a tag for one animal supposed that animal died, should he still go on on his hunt until he harvest an animal or should he quit? since he wounded and probably kill him ,what it will be the right thing to do??

and when the AZGFD send you the survey what do you write , wounded and could not recover one and harvest one?

i just mention this incident because it was on the forum but i'm sure that happen to other people in this forum.

just wondering on people opinions.

Good question- A 600 yard rifle shot- a 70 yard archery shot- I also hear these stories and wonder. If you practice these shots and are proficient, I think it's ok. I'm no expert with bow or rifle but shoot both pretty well. I personally would not take either of these shots because of all the variables and the chance of a wounded, lost animal. When I dove or quail hunt and lose a bird, I consider it part of my limit. In the big scheme of things it probably doesn't matter but to me personally - it does. I've been fortunate to have never lost a big game animal that I have hit. I know it happens even to the pros on TV shows. Nothing goes to waste in nature, but I don't hunt to feed coyotes and buzzards. I don't shoot and hope- I take only shots I KNOW I can make. But that's just me. <_<

I'd answer truthfully on the card (I do); it helps the managers guess how much wounding is going on, and they can extrapolate from that for science based management...