jamaro

Possible new BILL!!!

I am a non resident to New Mexico and I have done very well in drawing tags there over the years. I have often said that it's too bad that I can draw an antelope tag so easily when there are many residents that have been applying for years and years without success. I think the knee-jerk reaction is yes of course the residents deserve more tags! However I think a little caution behind the motivation is in order. It seems that the reasoning behind Mr. Munoz idea is that if other states residents are getting more tags then so should the residents of NM. While this in fact may be true I think it's a dangerous road to travel. Every state is different, and each state has a limited resource to manage. On top of that each state has different management styles and objectives to maintain. I think there is a lot more to look at than just saying "all the other states have more resident tags available so I think we should too". Imagine what would happen if all the western states started competing with one another to see who could get the highest number of resident tags guaranteed its residents? Pretty soon non resident opportunities would go down the toilet. Also, Mr. Munoz is quick to point at Arizona "right across the border", but what about the northern border? Colorado seems to have a very effective game management plan which guarantees its residents fewer than 90% of the tags. Mr. Munoz also failed to include the fact that while AZ and NM may be neighbors they are VERY different when it comes to hunting opportunity! Arizona has no land owner tag program while New Mexico does. Arizona has twice the population and much fewer game animals than New Mexico. I think Mr. Munoz needs to look at the big picture and not just use the facts that benefit his idea to steer people into making a decision based on emotion.

I'm not saying 90% is right or wrong. I'm just saying that there are a lot of other facts to consider.