Sign in to follow this  
broadhead

Looking for a little help finding the bucks

Hey guys,

This is my first post on here. I've been doing a lot of reading and I've come across some really helpful threads and some very helpful people willing to share their knowledge but haven't seen anything that gets to my question. This is my first year in too long that I've been able to not just get back into hunting but really hit it hard through some scouting. I've been preparing to hunt the early archery season and to get ready I've put in four scouting trips in addition to a lot of map and Google Earth map scouting. So far I've been able to get in three good scouting sessions into the basin I've decided to hunt and have seen plenty of deer. By last count I'm up to around 45 just from walking in on trails and picking them up while glassing so I'm optimistic about the herd in the area. The only problem is I have yet to fine one group of bucks or even a loner anywhere in the entire area. After glassing a couple nice canyons crawling with does (to the point of having groups of them literally walk up and over the ridge I was sitting on a few times) and since it's the time of year the bucks are still together away from the does I've pushed into some seriously rugged and forbidding terrain to try to find where they're hanging out. Yesterday I took a look at the canyon I figured was a sure bet and one I hadn't been into. When I made it to the top I found the ridge covered in trails, scat, and in the little depression was a bunch of obvious beds. I figured for sure I was about glass some bucks but after three hours of picking apart the terrain from the creek bottom up to the top I got nothing (I was on a time limit and head to head back in after that) Not one deer. So I guess my question is in your experience and in general should I be changing up my approach to try to find the bucks? One thought was to look farther up into some of the draws where I've spotted so many of the does thin