Elkchaser

Input wanted - Hunting with a 10 year old

My son has gone with me on several hunts but is finally old enough this year to have his own tags. He drew a youth elk and deer tag so we have been scouting and practicing shooting. This is my first year guiding him so I have some questions from those who have been through this experience -

Should I try to set him up prone or use my tripod with our triclawp for shots? (Assuming we have time and location to choose)

It's been dry in our unit, is sitting water a good or bad idea? His attention span is not great as with most 10 year olds but I like the idea of shorter shots and having the rifle preset up on the triclawp. Who's tried it?

Anything else you wish you would have known or wished someone would have told you about hunting with a youth? (Other than have patience!)

Been there Done That, X2. Be patient, try to not put too much emphasis on the hunt. Get him as much trigger time as you can get. Have him practice shooting standing too, go hunt some rabbits. I have seen kids shoot from triclawps and they can do well, but I also watched a kid take half a dozen shots at an Elk too. 

• Like 3