Sign in to follow this  
zackcarp

Lake Cascade Ice Fishing Report

So a few months back my cousin called me up to see if I wanted to go on an adventure. So when he mentioned ice fishing in Idaho I was a bit skeptical of the whole idea, since I've never done that before. After talking with my wife we decided we would go and leave the kids behind. 

Over the next few months was me trying to get enough cold weather gear for my wife and I. I watched a few YouTube videos on ice fishing and saw huge trout and perch coming out of Lake Cascade, which got me excited. My cousin ended up hooking us up with a guide there which was nice, not having the proper gear and all. 

So 2 days after Christmas we left Gilbert and head off on a 13 hour trip to Mountain Home. We went up through Las Vegas and then to Ely, Nevada. I have driven up to Idaho Falls through Utah before, so I wanted to see what Nevada was like. I was very surprised how scenic Nevada ended up being. As we drove through Ely I could see people ice fishing there. I asked my wife why were going so far when we only had to drive half way. That night we arrived at our friends house in Mountain Home and stayed the night. 

We stayed in Mountain Home, got our day lisences and made our way through Boise and up to Cascade. Once we left Boise the snow was over 12"s or so. We arrived at our "Lodge" and waited for my cousin and his kids to show up. Once they got there we headed off for burgers at the local bar and grill the gal from the lodge recommended. As we pulled up, its obviously closed. Great, so we decided to head back to main Street and stop at the only Cafe that looks open, sliding on the ice covered roads the entire time. Once we slid into a parking spot near the Cafe my wife finally relaxed and we went in. The funny part was, the sign out front said "Tonight's special is Chicken Alfredo", which is my wife's favorite. But once we got seated the waitress tells us she was all out. My wife was disappointed.