Sign in to follow this  
Adicted

Down south Coues hunt my boys again

Well it was an interesting year and stressful year.  Rewind 3 weeks before hunt.  People that know me know that I shoot long distance quite a bit even have my own course I shoot by my house.  I started shooting suppressed last year and to be honest not sure if it contributed to my issues last year but we missed alot of animals, too close that i'm use to. For elk and deer.  Before the suppressor we were 18 for 18 on deer on my 300 win mag from 400-800 yds. With suppressor we missed quite a few. It really messed my head up.  Well i headed to the range just to check and make sure i have a perfect zero and first shot i blew my suppressor off my rifle 50 yards down the range.  I was extremely happy my son and I were not harmed.  See the suppressor in the pic.

Suppressor.png.5565b3c6a8dc2f4bfeea252ca370e20d.png

Well here we are short time before hunt and now i have to re-zero, re-chrono, Check long range on the mtn again.  What a mess. Well I was able to get this close as possible for my hunt and hoped for the best. 

Day 1 on the hunt and its flat out cold. Its my 2 kids and by neighbor who is a Pilot at Luke. Good guy.  We found some deer but no bucks today.

Day 2 and my oldest boy finds a buck at 840 yds and its a go.  We set up and 1 shot he hammers the buck and its down.  My 2 boys head over to get the deer and my neighbor and I stay and keep glassing.  Well I glass over to the ridge over and I see a giant Mtn lion, and its going right where the deer is junior just shot.  I jump on my 300 and my neighbor ranges 500.  I have severe buck fever and am shaking.  I take a shot and just below.  He continues to walk slow and is under a tree at 540.  I take my time and BOOM he takes hit (i believe) and hunches and jumps and straight down the hill where my sons deer is.  Long story short, never find the lion.

776472162_JuniorDeerPic.png.40a58a8ea78e13797537e7e1d6dd801a.png